What is PG County Minimum Wage?

Maryland’s minimum wage no less than is $11.60/hour, which is greater than the federal minimum wage of $7.25/hour. However, according to the Maryland Department of Labor, how much you are paid may change with the number of people that your company employs. See our list below to see how minimum wage rates change of the size of the company 

  • If your company employs 15 or more workers, minimum wage is $12.50 (from 1/1/2022)
  • If your company employs 14 or fewer workers, minimum wage is $12.20 (from 1/1/2022)
  • If your company employs 15  or more workers, minimum wage is $11.75 (from 1/1/2021)
  • If your company employs 14 or fewer workers, minimum wage is $12.50 (from 1/1/2021). 

Minimum wage is just a minimal – you are entitled to be paid more that the state mumumim wages.

Tipped Workers (classified as workers who receive more than $30 a month in tips) have to earn the PG County Minimum Wage per hour, when their tips and wage are combined. Employers have to pay their tipped workers at least $3.63, and this amount, plus tips, has to equal the minimum wage rates. Employers must provide employees with a written or electronic form of wage statement, for each pay period, displaying the employee’s hourly rate of pay, including both the employer paid cash wages, and tips for tip credit hours worked each work week of the pay period. 

It is also important to know that tipped employees, who on occasion will do work that is not tip relates, must be paid at least the full minimum wage rate for the time spent doing non tipped tasks.  

Maryland minimum wage for employees under 20 is $4.25, under federal law. However, this is only a training wage, that has to be increased after the first 90 days of employment. 

Maryland student minimum wage is $9.99, which full-time high school or college students who work part-time will be paid. This is because it is 85% of the Maryland minimum wage, for up to 20 hours a week, by certain employers, such as work-study programs at universities. 

Overtime Minimum Wage in PG County 

The overtime requirements for PG County, Maryland, are that employees must be paid 1.5 times their hourly rate for all hours worked over the standard 40 hours, per week. This means that workers should be paid $17.63 or more, per hour, for all of their hours above 40 hours a week. Maryland does not specify a daily overtime limit, although some other states do. The FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Agency) ensures that all MD employees get adequate overtime compensation for all qualifying overtime hours worked. If your employer does not pay you adequate overtime wages, then you can file an Unpaid Ocvertime claim with the Maryland Department of Labor. 

There are, however, exceptions: 

  • Bowling establishments, and institutions that provide on premise care to the sick, the ages, or individuals with disabilities (except hospitals) will get overtime rates for all hours worked over 48 hours per week. 
  • Agricultural Workers for all hours worked over 60 hours per week (which is the policy laid out in the Maryland Wage and Hour Agricultural Exemptions brochure). 

Exceptions to the minimum wage in PG County

There are a number of exceptions to the minimum wage rates in PG County, and we will take you through them all, so you know what your rights as a worker or an employer are:

  • If an employee is an immediate family member of the employer
  • Certain groups of agricultural workers
  • Employees under 18 years of age (as of June 1st, 2019, minor employees must be paid 85% of the State minimum wage rate). 
  • Executives, administrative, and professional employees. 
  • People who volunteered for work with educational charitable religious, and non-profit organizations. 
  • Employees that are under 16, and working less than 20 hours a week. 
  • Outside salespeople. 
  • Employees enrolled in an organization/business as part of a public school special education program. 
  • Non-administrative employees in organized camps
  • Certain establishments that sell food and drink for consumption on the premises that gross less than $400,000 annually. 
  • Drive-in theaters 
  • Establishments that are involved in the first canning, packing, or freezing of fruits, vegetables, poultry, or seafood. 
  • Part time employees over the age of 62, who work less than 25 hours per week. 

These exceptions have been set out by state and federal law, so your employer can choose to follow them or can choose to pay you above the rates. 

Exceptions to the overtime minimum wage in PG County 

There are a number of exceptions to the overtime minimum wage rates in PG County, and we will take you through them all, so you know what your rights as a worker or an employer are:

  • Taxicab drivers
  • Certain employees selling or servicing automobiles, farm equipment, trailers, or trucks. 
  • Non-profit concert promoters, theater, music festival music pavilions, or shows. 
  • Employees that are subject to certain railroad requirements laid out by the U.S. Dept of Transportation, the Federal Motor Carrier act, or the Interstate Commerce Commission. 
  • Seasonal amusement and recreational establishments that meet certain criteria. 

These exceptions have been set out by state and federal law, so your employer can choose to follow them or can choose to pay you above the rates. 

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. What would my yearly income be if I work a minimum wage job in Maryland?

If you are  a worker in PG County, working 40 hours a week, for 52 weeks a year, you will earn $94.00 a day, $470.00 a week, and $24,440.00 a year. This is above the national poverty line, which, for a family unit of two, is a household income of $16,020.00 a year. 

  1. What is the Maryland minimum wage rate for workers under 18? 

Employers in Maryland may pay workers that are 18 years old or younger the youth minimum wage, for their first 90 days of employment. Some other labor law exemptions may exit for minor workers in Maryland. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *